Department of Anaesthesiology


  • Until May 1970, before the new hospital building came up, all the operative work was being carried out in the old building. Late, Dr. G. S. Ambardekar who was a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons (U.K.) was the first honorary anaesthetist from 1947 to 1950. Late Dr. J. H. Mehta, who headed the department after 1950, was the first in India to give anaesthesia in an open-heart surgery in 1961. Since 1974 we have extended anaesthesia services to peripheral municipal hospitals and since 1978, we have taken over dental anaesthesia services at Nair Hospital Dental College.


Sr No Name Designation
1 Dr. Charulata Deshpande Professor and Head
2 Professor
3 Dr. Sona Dave Professor
4 Dr. Swati Chhatrapati Professor
Dr. Lipika BaliarSingh Swain Professor
Dr. Sarita Fernandes Associate Professor
Dr. Harshwardhan Tikle Associate Professor
Dr. Sarika Ingle Associate Professor
Dr. Pradip Swami Associate Professor
10  Dr. Meenal Harde Associate Professor
11  Dr. Pravin Ubale Associate Professor
12 Dr. Varsha Suryavanshi Associate Professor
13 Dr. Mangesh Gore Associate Professor
14  Dr. Anjana Sahu Associate Professor
15  Dr. Deepa Suvarna Associate Professor
16  Dr. Bhaskar Patil Associate Professor
17  Dr. Ashish Mali Assistant Professor
18  Dr. Rameshwar Mhamane Assistant Professor
19  Dr. Manish Patil Assistant Professor
20  Dr. Anand Nirgude Assistant Professor
21  Dr. Shweta Jaju Assistant Professor
22  Dr. Krunal Kapure Assistant Professor
23  Dr. Trupti Kamble Assistant Professor
24  Dr. Piyush Wani Assistant Professor
  Dr. Pradnya Khadse Assistant Professor
  Dr. Tarana Shaikh Assistant Professor
25  Dr. Kirti Gurjarkar Assistant Professor


Office College building (‘D’) - 3rd floor
Operation Theatres Spread over various buildings in campus & affiliated hospitals in the city including Nair Hospital Dental College
Anaesthesiology OPD OPD building (‘O’) - 1st floor (9.00 a.m. to 3.00 p.m. Mon to Sat)
Pain Clinic & Anaesthesia Lab. OPD building (‘O’) – Anaesthesiology OPD
OPD building (‘O’) – 5th floor

Facilities & special services

  • Anaesthesia for various basic surgical specialties and super specialties. Apart from Nair Hospital we cater to the needs of Nair Hospital Dental College also.
  • Anaesthesia outside Operation theatres: Electroconvulsive therapy, Cardiac Catheterisation, C.T. Scan, Radiology, Radiotherapy, GE Endoscopic Procedures, Audiology & Speech Therapy (BERA Test).
  • Post-anaesthesia Care Unit (Recovery room): for routine postoperative care and also for patients requiring intensive care and /or respiratory support in the postoperative period.
  • Intensive Trauma Unit ( 8 beds) and Trauma Operating Room.
  • Resuscitation in various intensive care areas, wards and casualty.
  • Teaching: Undergraduates and postgraduates: Medical, Dental and Physiotherapy students with latest teaching aids like laptop, LCD, overhead and slide projector etc.
  • Research projects.
  • Experts in various committees in the hospital and in BMC and University.
  • CPCR Training Programmes
  • Labour Analgesia

Guidelines/instructions for patients for OPDs/investigations:

  1. OPD timings are from 9.00 am to 1.30 pm.
  2. Bring all relevant documents of patient’s present and previous illnesses.
  3. Blood tests or radiologic imaging might be required after examination.
  4. Bring current medications in packaging with prescription sheet.
  5. Be forthright, and honest with regard to present and past illnesses while consulting with  the anaesthesiologist – reveal all your medical, surgical and allergic afflictions.

Courses offered

  • PG – MD (Anaesthesiology), Diploma in Anaesthesiology

Contact 022-2302Ext. No.

Anesthesia Dept. 7137 Anesthesia HOD 7136
Anesthesia OPD35 7658 Anesthesia Lab. 7334