Department of Psychiatry – ISO 9001:2000 certified

  • In 1933, a Psychiatry outpatient service was begun by Dr. K.A. Lalkaka. From 1962-1981, the department expanded with Dr. S.M. Lulla at its head. Between 1982-1991, the department continued to develop under the leadership of Dr. A.P. Patkar (1982-1992) after whom Dr. H.S. Dhavale (1992-2005) took over as the first full time Head in Psychiatry. The current Professor and Head is Dr. R. Kamath (2005- till date).
    We have also had the following who served as Honorary Professors:
    • Dr. P.C. Shastri (Retd. 1996)
    • Dr. R. R. Patel (Retd. 2004)
    • Dr. C. Pinto (Retd. in 2008 - Currently Professor Emeritus
  • Dr. A. P. Patkar Oration:
    Started in 2009 by a corpus generated by generous contribution from all his students, the first Dr. A. P. Patkar Oration was awarded to Dr. C. Andrade (Professor of Psychopharmacology, NIMHANS, and Bangalore)


Sr. No. Name Designation
1 Dr. Henal R. Shah Associate Professor
2 Dr. Jahnavi Kedare Associate Professor
3 Dr. Alka A. Subramanyam Associate Professor
4 Dr Sreelakshmi V Assistant Professor
5 Dr Kalpana Pawar Assistant Professor
6 Dr. Mansi Somaiya Assistant Professor


Outdoor Services OPD No. 13, 1st floor, OPD Building
Indoor Services Ward No. 1, 4th floor, OPD Building


Unit Staff Member Designation
Unit 1 Dr. Jahnavi Kedare
Dr. Alka Subramanyam
Associate Professor
Assistant Professor
Unit 2 Dr. Henal R. Shah
Professor and Unit Head

OPD Timings

  • 8:30 a.m to  1 p.m ( Monday to Friday )
  • 8:30 a.m to 12 p.m ( Saturday)







Clinical Psychologist

Mrs. Urmila Sawant


Clinical Psychologist

Ms. Mansi Joshi